A Comprehensive Guide to Getting a Real Estate License

There are specific requirements that you should meet to earn and use your real estate license. The requirements vary depending on the state where you intend to get licensed. The license you will get is state-specific, and once you earn one, the state will grant you the licensure you require to legally act as a real estate agent in that particular state.

Most states provide two types of licenses: real estate broker and sales or salesperson. Generally, real estate salespersons and provisional brokers (also known as brokers in some states) work under the umbrella of a designated broker. North Carolina and a few other states have a ‘broker only’ licensing system. However, the license has different ‘status levels.’

It’s also important to complete all the necessary coursework and pass the real estate exam to ultimately become brokers as this comes with more career opportunities and flexibility. Therefore, focus on doing a perfect Georgia real estate exam prep to pass the exam and acquire your license.

State requirements

If you intend to obtain your real estate, you must meet all your state’s requirements. You can get this information by visiting the website of your state’s property regulatory office. Keep in mind that each state has unique requirements for;

  • Education
  • Age
  • Examinations and examination eligibility
  • Application fees and process
  • Continuing education
  • Various background checks and fingerprinting
  • Pre-licensing coursework
  • Process for acquiring the next level of licensing
  • Criminal history

Some states have set reciprocal agreements with other states. That means you can get your license in one state and use the same license in another state. You don’t have to sit for another state real estate exam. For example, North Carolina has such an agreement with Georgia, Lowa, Arkansas, Mississippi, South Carolina, Connecticut, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Nebraska.

With regular state licensing, every state as a unique process of acquiring licensure by reciprocity. Check your state’s official website for requirements.

Real estate classes

All states require you to take specific real estate pre-licensing coursework and prove that you have successfully completed the required number of hours. Once you meet these requirements, you can schedule your real estate exam.

In addition to these pre-licensing classes, you can access real estate exam preparation resources that can help you prepare and pass your exam. Check reputable websites that offer these resources and pick the learning materials that meet your state requirements.

Licensing exams

For you to get the real estate license, you must sit for and pass a real estate exam according to your state requirements. The exam has two broad sections: a state-specific section that helps in determining your knowledge of the state’s real estate law and a national section that focuses on general real estate principles and practices. Each section is scored separately, and you must achieve a passing grade for each section depending on your state requirements.

Acquiring a real estate license requires time and money commitment. But it can help in securing a rewarding career with an opportunity for future growth.